Greenlight Landing

 

(the Greenlight home/landing page.)
For the end users, Greenlight provides:

 

  • Authentication via Google, Office365, LDAP, or local accounts
  • A default personal room with a permanent invite URL
  • The ability to create multiple rooms
  • An interface to view, manage, and share recordings

Once you are logged in, you’ll see your account appear in the top right corner of the screen. Clicking on the navigation items along side it allows you to traverse Greenlight.

Greenlight Nav

Profile

Greenlight also allows users to update their account information at any time, including changing their password, profile image, and language for Greenlight.

Greenlight Settings

Rooms

Using Your Room

Greenlight is built around the concept of rooms. A room, to the user, is a BigBlueButton session that they “own”. A user can add custom room settings, start/stop their room, invite others to their room using a short easily communicable URL, track sessions, and more.

Greenlight Room

To invite someone to join your room, all you have to do is give them the invite URL on the room page. Once they follow the URL, they’ll be presented with an invitation to join your room. If the user doesn’t have a Greenlight account, they’ll be prompted to enter a name to join the room. Otherwise, Greenlight will use their account name.

Greenlight Invitation

If the room is running, they’ll be instantly join in. However, if the room is not running they’ll be added to the wait list. Once the room starts, they’ll be automatically joined into the room with the owner. A user can leave the wait list simply by leaving the page.

Greenlight Waiting

Creating New Rooms

When you sign up for Greenlight, the application creates your home room which is named “Home Room”. You are free to create as many new rooms as you would like for different purposes. To create a new room, you simply click the “Create a Room” block from your list of rooms. You can configure room specific settings to customize each room.

Greenlight Create Room

Your new room will then show under your current room, and you can click to switch between them. Your home room is the one with the home icon. You can delete a room using the room drop-down.

Greenlight Multiple Rooms

 

Room Settings

Note: Room setting changes will not apply to currently running/active meetings

SettingDescription
Generate an optional room access codeGenerates an access code that users must enter before they are allowed to join the room. An access code can be randomly generated by clicking the dice icon the left, and can be removed by clicking the garbage icon on the right.
Mute users when they joinAutomatically mutes the user when they join the BigBlueButton meeting
Require moderator approval before joiningPrompts the moderator of the BigBlueButton meeting when a user tries to join. If the user is approved, they will be able to join the meeting.
Allow any user to start this meetingAllows any user to start the meeting. By default, only the Room Owner will join as a moderator.
All users join as moderatorsGives all users moderator privileges in BigBlueButton when they join the meeting.
Automatically join me into the roomAutomatically joins the user into the room after the room gets created successfully.

Renaming Rooms

Using the header

If you hover over the room name, you should see an edit icon

Greenlight Room Header Edit Icon

You can either click the edit icon or double click the header to enable editing mode:

Greenlight Room Header Editing Mode

Afterwards, you can change the name by clicking anywhere or pressing the enter key.

Using the Room block

If you look at a Room block, you will see 3 ellipsis which you can click to view the options for this room. You can click Room Settings to display a modal that will allow you to edit any of the Room’s features.

Afterwards, clicking Update Room will save the changes.

Greenlight Room Block Edit Dropdown

Greenlight Room Block Editing Mode

Manage Access

In the Room actions dropdown, there is a setting that allows users to share rooms.

Greenlight Room Shared Access

To share a room with another user, click on the dropdown and search for the user using either their email or their uid.

Greenlight Room Shared Modal

Once you click on a user to add, they will be added to the Shared With area in a pending state. No changes will be made unless the Save Changes button is clicked.

Greenlight Room Shared Pending

Users that the room has been shared with will appear in the following state:

Greenlight Room Shared Added

You can unshare a room with a user by clicking the x icon. Again, no changes will be save until the Save Changes button is clicked.

Greenlight Room Shared Remove

Once a room is shared, the users that it is shared with will have access to that room in their Room List. They will be able to view/start the meeting and view the recordings. Note that only the room owner can edit/delete the room and the recordings.

For the User that has the room shared with them, the room will now appear in their room list with a share icon and the name of the user that shared the room with them.

Greenlight Room Shared

The User also has the option to remove an unwanted shared room from their room list.

Greenlight Room Remove Shared

Recordings

Viewing Recordings

On your room page, all recordings for that room will be listed at the bottom under the recordings subtitle. This table contains information about the recording, as well as its recorded formats. You can click on any of these formats and you’ll open the recording in a new tab.

Greenlight Recordings

Each recording has a visibility associated with it, which can be changed by clicking on it in the recordings table. By default, it is set to unlisted.

Public: everyone can view it if they have the room link.
Unlisted: only users who have the recording link can view it.

Managing Recordings

Using the drop-down in the recordings table, you have the ability to delete a recording or mail a recording to a friend. Keep in mind, emailing an unlisted recording will allow the friend access, so if you want a recording to be completely private, don’t share the recording link.

Deleted recordings are not recoverable, so be sure when deleting a recording.

Modifying Recordings

Renaming Recordings directly using the Recording Title

To edit the recording name directly using the title, you can hover over the title and see an edit icon.

Greenlight Recording Title Edit Icon

You can either click the edit icon or double click the title to enable editing mode:

Greenlight Recording Title Editing Mode

Afterwards, you can change the name by clicking anywhere or pressing the enter key.

Sorting and Searching Recordings

It is possible to sort recordings by metrics such as NameUser Number, and Length of Recording.

This can be done by clicking on the headers of the table (cycles through ascendingdescending, and no particular order):

Greenlight Recording Sort Asc

Greenlight Recording Sort Desc

There is also a live search that may return any part of the recording name:

Greenlight Recording Search

Searching and sorting can be used in conjunction:

Greenlight Recording Filter and Search